Exploring Civil Rights

Reinforced Library Binding
Special Price $112.00 Regular Price $160.00
Key events of the Civil Rights Movement will be brought to life in this new series. The years spanning from 1955- 1965 in US History were critical to the Civil Rights Movement. Resistance was often met with violence against Black Americans fighting to end discrimination and segregation. Yet the courage of those yearning for equal opportunities under the law continued to persevere. With stunning photographs throughout and rich back matter, each book in this set focuses on a specific year and chronologically follows the detailed events that occurred and the changes that took place.
Includes 5 titles: The Movement: 1955 • The Movement: 1957 • The Movement: 1960 • The Movement: 1963 • The Movement: 1965
Additional Details
Key Features
  • Each book addresses major moments in civil rights history, organized chronologically, ties into the school curriculum
  • Informative sidebars, at least one per chapter, provide cultural references and explanations of more complex terms
  • Back matter: timeline, glossary, reference materials, mini-bio of a modern civil rights activist, and more
  • Historical photos throughout
  • A sampling of the people and events include:
    • 1955: Emmett Till, Rosa Parks, Montgomery Bus Boycott
    • 1957: Little Rock 9, Civil Rights Act of 1957, MLK Jr meeting in Atlanta
    • 1960: Greensboro 4, sit-ins, Ruby Bridges
    • 1963: University of Alabama, March on Washington, Birmingham bombings
    • 1965: Selma to Montgomery March, Voting Rights Act, Malcolm X
Fiction / Nonfiction Nonfiction
Imprint Children's Press
Copyright 2022
Trim Size 6 x 9
Pages 96

More Information
ISBN 978-1-338-80826-1
Item Number 737323
Back to Top
Related Products