Taking Up Space

Special Price $10.79 Regular Price $17.99
SKU
978-1-338-18600-0
From beloved author Alyson Gerber comes another realistic contemporary novel perfect for fans of Judy Blume. Sarah loves basketball more than anything. Crushing it on the court makes her feel like she matters. And it's the only thing that helps her ignore how much it hurts when her mom forgets to feed her. But lately Sarah can't even play basketball right. She's slower now and missing shots she should be able to make. Her body doesn't feel like it's her own anymore. She's worried that changing herself back to how she used to be is the only way she can take control over what's happening. When Sarah's crush asks her to be partners in a cooking competition, she feels pulled in a million directions. She'll have to dig deep to stand up for what she needs at home, be honest with her best friends, and accept that she doesn't need to change to feel good about herself. Booklist described Gerber's novels in starred reviews as both "highly empathetic" and "truly inspiring." Taking Up Space promises to be a realistic and compelling story about struggling with body image and learning that true self-esteem comes from within.
PREVIEW
More Information
Written by Alyson Gerber
ISBN 978-1-338-18600-0
Item # 818600
Imprint Scholastic Press
Copyright 2021
Trim Size 5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Pages 272
Ages 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
Grades 3 - 7
Back to Top